FeaturedThe Friday 5

The Friday 5: May 10th

By May 10, 2024 No Comments

Friday 5 – May 10, 2024

Caleb Williams

In perhaps the least surprising news ever, Caleb Williams is officially QB1 of the Chicago Bears. Head coach Matt Eberflus told reporters before Friday’s rookie minicamp, “No conversation. He’s the starter.”

Williams was the No. 1 pick in last year’s NFL draft, and it was a foregone conclusion, but it’s always good to leave no doubt. 

Rookie minicamps are underway around the league.

 

Terrion Arnold

Like Taylor Swift before him, there is nobody like Detroit Lions rookie CB Terrion Arnold, per CB Terrion Arnold, who told reporters “ain’t nobody like me.” 

Arnold, who was the Lions’ 2024 first-round pick, is wearing the number 0. He comes to a secondary that struggled last year, bringing his 2023 five interceptions and 12 PBUs. 

Detroit’s defense allowed 28 passing touchdowns last season. Yes, they went to the NFC Championship game, but Brandon Aiyuk and his ladybug friend derailed a big lead, and they don’t want that to happen again.

 

Las Vegas Raiders

Let the quarterback Vegas battle begin!

Raiders head coach Antonio Pierce said Friday that it will be Aidan O’Connell who will get first-team snaps over Gardner Minshew to start the offseason. 

O’Connell went for 5-5 in 10 starts as a rookie last season, with eight touchdown passes and zero interceptions in the final four games of the season. Overall, he threw for 2,218 yards, 12 TDs and seven INTs. 

Minshew was 7-6 with the Colts last season, throwing for 3,305 yards, 15 TDs and nine INTs.

 

NBA Playoff Schedule

Friday
New York Knicks at Indiana Pacers (Knicks up, 2-0) – 7 pm ET/4 pm PT on ESPN
Denver Nuggets at Minnesota Timberwolves (Twolves up, 2-0) – 9:30 pm ET/6:30 pm PT on ESPN

Saturday
Oklahoma City Thunder at Dallas Mavericks (Series tied, 1-1) – 3:30 pm ET/12:30 pm PT on ABC
Boston Celtics at Cleveland Cavaliers (Series tied, 1-1) – 8:30 pm ET/5:30 pm PT on ABC

 

Staley Cup Playoffs Schedule

Friday
Florida Panthers at Boston Bruins (Series tied, 1-1) – 7 pm ET/4 pm PT on TNT
Edmonton Oilers at Vancouver Canucks (Canucks up, 1-0) – 10 pm ET/7 pm PT on TNT

Saturday
New York Rangers at Carolina Hurricanes (Rangers up, 3-0) – 7 pm ET/4 pm PT on TNT
Dallas Stars at Colorado Avalanche (Series tied, 1-1) – 10 pm ET/7 pm PT on TNT

Tracy Sandler

Tracy Sandler

I created Fangirl Sports Network as a place for female sports fans to follow their favorite teams with content and coverage that speaks directly to females. It started with one and then eight and now 32 NFL Fangirls and 15 NBA Fangirls.